Our Church

Active ministers in the later years: Pastors Rev. Bird, Rev. Combs, President Noel, Rev. H.D. Jones, Rev. W. C. Johnson, Alvin Jackson, Rev. W.H. Harris, Rev.  Henry Beckham, and Bryan Sparks.

History of Our Church

The Union Missionary Baptist Church, a historic center of worship for blacks in Jefferson beginning in 1842, is facing a restored life in the community.

The church was first established in 1842, and it’s doors were open to all people of color. No description of the church building or the denomination exists of that earliest sanctuary.